Concentration

I sat down on the couch, placed my textbook down on the coffee table. The evening was quiet except for the crackle of the fake fire and the tunes from my laptop. In the soft lighting I rested my body and worked my mind ’til drowsiness caught hold of me. It would have been easy to lay back and nod off into the blissful quiet, but the sudden ring of the phone hurt the atmosphere and raised my stress level a few noticeable notches. Answering the phone was at the bottom of my to do list, but after all, the squeaky wheel gets the grease. So I heaved myself up and grabbed the offending piece. I briefly contemplated whether throwing it would cost more exertion than answering it.
“hello?” I said, my voice automatically going an octave lower.
“Hello. Is Garret around?” it was a female voice, sweet as a peach.
“Sorry he’s not here right now, can I give him a message?” I dropped another octave.
“Is this his father?” said the peach.
“Uh, no. I’m his room mate. He is at the orientation deal on campus. I could have him call you back when he gets here. What’s your number?” I searched frantically for a pen.
“OK, well I might just see him at the activities then. Thanks, bye.” And with that she was gone.
“Uh, goodbye…” I said. I still had the phone up to my ear as my mind caught up with the times. The indicators added up to about twenty-one years of brunette and one of blond. I was wishing she would have left a number.
Back on the couch I divided my attention between the dulcet voice and my impending exam.

Categories: Fictional Stories | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Concentration

  1. Grant Redden

    Good writing. Really enjoyed it.

  2. Anna Redden

    I like it! Heh heh, but now you’re never going to be able to concentrate on you’re homework.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

